Adding User Groups To Channels

Note
Before you can add a user group to a channel, make sure you have created your user group.

Adding User Groups To Channels

In order to publish content to specific groups of users, you must first add your user groups to your channel(s).

This will allow you select a user group when publishing content in that channel.

First, click on the cog icon at the top of the CMS, then click on ‘User Groups’. Now click on the channels tab, and finally on + Add New Channel.

When you click on +Add New Channel, you will see a list of the channels available from your app library. Simply click ‘Add Channel’ beside any of the channels that you wish to add the group to, then click Close.

Now you’ll go back to the User Group screen, and you’ll see that the list of channels available for the group has been updated.

Should you wish to remove a user group from a channel, simply click the red X beside its name.

 

Publishing Content to Groups

Note
Before you can publish content to groups, make sure you have:

If you haven’t completed any of these steps, click on the appropriate link above.

Publishing Content to Groups

Now that you have created your user group, added users to it, and added the group to a channel, you’re ready to segment your content so that it’s only visible to specific groups!

Start by creating piece of content as normal on the CMS (a page for example), but before clicking Save and Publish, navigate to the ‘Audience’ tab. This where we will choose which groups of users can see this content.

 

You can see that by default, content is available to all users, unless you specify a group, or groups.

To do so, search for the group that you wish this content to be restricted to in the ‘Choose Groups to restrict audience’ field. If you know the name of the group, just start typing its name, or if you want to see a list of all available groups, just press the star key *

 

Now click on the group that you want that to be able to see the content. If you want to add multiple groups to be able to see this content, you can do by repeating the process. Selected groups will appear in blue, and the padlock icon will shut – showing you that the content will only be available these groups.

 

When you’re satisfied that you have added the group(s) you want, now you can click the Save and Publish button, to publish your content so that it’s only visible to users who are in the specified groups.

 

Bulk Adding Users to Groups

While you can add users to groups from the ‘user’ screen or from the ‘group’ screen if you are adding single users, if you have a list of all of the users that you want to add to a group, you can do this in bulk.

Note that all of the users that you want to add to a group must already be users within your organisation – this process will not create new users, it will simply add existing users in to a user group.

Click on the cog icon at the top of the CMS to access your administrator controls. First click on ‘User Groups’ and then on the group that you wish to bulk add users to.

 

Now click on the ‘users’ tab to see a list of users currently added to this group, and click on ‘bulk add users’ at the bottom of the screen.

 

On the next screen, simply paste your list of users in to the box, then click ‘add users’

 

If any of the usernames that you have entered are incorrect, or do not exist, you will see an error as follows:

 

This function does not create new users – it simply adds existing users to user groups.

If your list of users is valid, you will be able to click on confirm and complete, and your list of users will be added to the group.